Boats, Bikinis, and Birthdays

So it was official birthday this Sunday. I am now 26 – legitimately now on the back half of my twenties. I had my big celebration last week so I decided to take it easy on my actual birthday (and not be tempted by more alcohol and delicious foods) and just go out on the boat and for a light dinner. Luckily my cheat meal fell perfectly on my birthday so I was able to actually go out for dinner!

It’s funny, my sister was asking me where I want to have this epic bday dinner and I said I would let her know just before when I decided what my craving was at the moment (very important to me to satisfy my starving person craving!). Soo I was on the Stairmaster completing my hour long session, watching the Food Network – Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives (Yes I know, insane, but this is my new crazy thing I do) and it was all about greasy breakfast food. So I decided that was what I wanted more than anything – pancakes! I called my sister and we made a reservation at Denny’s for my fancy birthday night out.

Funny the difference a year makes – last year I had to be at the most chic, gourmet restaurant in town rocking my newest pair of heels (I’m a bit, A LOT of a shoe addict) and obviously a tiara. This year all that mattered was the joy that is pancakes! We still dressed up though of course, to the nines at Denny’s, it was definitely a sight! And I managed to find a stretchy dress that fit me as my whole closet is rapidly become unwearable as I lose weight. The people at my work have taken to calling me the “Homeless Painter” since all my pants are ridiculously big on me.

dress blog

A dress that fits! Don’t mind the rats nest hair – that’s basically what it looks like all the time now that I live at the gym. I am embracing it

Anyways back to the dinner – I have to say those pancakes were the best thing I have ever had in my life. Bar none. It was the perfect moment. I feel like everyone else was probbaaably a little uncomfortable interrupting me and my moment with my food, but they did ok. But I have to say I really do believe in the cheat meal concept. My coach Buff Bunny has cheat meals built into my diet right up until basically the end of my prep and I am very grateful for that. Not only does it give me my much needed weekly dose of food joy, but I really think it resets my metabolism and I wake up looking leaner the next morning.

The day on the boat was also great, it’s getting a lot easier eating my protein and veggies while everyone else chows down on BBQ. I think I have officially embraced this prep and I no longer feel rage when people eat delicious food next to me.

My bodybuilder friend has been working out with me almost every day for the last few weeks and that has been great! He helps correct my form and pushes me to work harder and do more. I never realized how much having a physical person there can really help!

All in all it’s been a great weekend, I got a great birthday haul (basically all workout gear AND a fit bit!), stuck to my meal plan, and spent time with all my favourite people on the lake.

Just 10 weeks to go!

presents

Birthday Goodies!

Leave a comment